Jump to content
Cover for The Landleaguers
Isbn: 978-87-2680-346-4
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Novels Historic facsimile
Accessible since: August 2021


The Landleaguers

Anthony Trollope’s final novel, ‘The Landleaguers’ was first published posthumously in 1883. Trollope had planned another 11 chapters, but these were left unwritten following his death. Situated in Ireland, ‘The Landleaguers’ is set against the backdrop of the Irish Land Laws and follows the conflict between landowner Philip Jones and tenant Pat Carroll. More violent than most of Trollope’s other novels, there are nevertheless elements of romance and humour throughout too.

Anthony Trollope (1815 – 1882) was a Victorian writer and author of 47 novels. He also wrote an autobiography, short stories and plays, travel articles, reviews and lectures. A prolific writer, he made no secret of the fact that money was his motivation for writing – an admission which raised eyebrows among his literary contemporaries at the time. The amount of works Trollope authored are testament to his belief in hard work. His first successful novel was The Warden followed by its sequel, Barchester Towers. The Chronicles of Barsetshire are perhaps his most well-known series of novels, though many of his works have been adapted for TV and radio, starring many familiar faces such as Alan Rickman, David Tennant, Bill Nighy and Tom Hollander. Alongside his literary career, Trollope also worked for some time for the Post Office and is credited with the introduction of the iconic post box to Britain. A memorial to Anthony Trollope was unveiled in Poets’ Corner in Westminster Abbey in 1993.

Log in to borrow


Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms


Tablet e-reader